ToddM
Sep 17 2004, 05:01 PM
Just wondering if anyone has any knowledge about an IM software called Zango.
Thier website is www.zango.com
Someone has asked me to install it and respecting this site for the information it provides I thought I'd check it out here first.
Thanks,
ToddM
Fireflyer
Sep 17 2004, 05:51 PM
Zango.com is related to 180solutions, Inc. - a well known Adware supplier - we help plenty of people get 180solutions infections off their computers. Beware of installing anything from them - you may get more than you bargained for.
Like maybe the Zango Search Assistant? From Zango: "While the Software is installed on your computer, Zango may collect information about you and the websites you visit."
Sounds like spyware to me - see Kephyr.com's writeup about it here:
http://www.kephyr.com/spywarescanner/libra...ngo/index.phtml
DuaneJeffers
Mar 10 2005, 02:40 AM
Sorry for resurrecting a dead thread ... but I am now attending the Game Developer's Conference here in San Francisco, CA, and I met with a Zango Executive at their booth. Am I still to assume that 180solutions is still bad, or have they actually become good? I was told to email the Executive about white papers that has stuff saying that what they are doing is not considered spyware.
Thanks,
Duane
ErikAlbert
Mar 10 2005, 02:46 AM
The domain "*.zango.com" is blacklisted in IE-SPYAD and therefore considered as a Restricted Site in MSIE and that's why I couldn't get access to www.zango.com.
Zango is also blacklisted several times in the HOSTS file.
So there must be something wrong with the whole website.
LostAccount
Mar 10 2005, 05:35 AM
I don't understand what you mean here.
QUOTE(DuaneJeffers @ 18:24, 03:40 PM)
I was told to email the Executive about white papers that has stuff saying that what they are doing is not considered spyware.
I think that 180solutions has really cleared up their practices yet. Their joining COAST (Consortium of Anti-Spyware Technologies) is just a mask to cover their acts as COAST is ineffective.
See this thread for more.
http://forums.net-integration.net/index.php?showtopic=24992Anyway, ncase and Zango (the game access thingy) are both considered spyware by Spybot and Ad-aware. So you might want to think twice before associating yourself with a dubious company.
ErikAlbert
Mar 10 2005, 11:08 AM
ToddM,
Install IE-SPYAD and MVPS Hosts Files on your computer, it will protect you against thousands of infected websites, like zango.
Here is the link for downloading IE-SPYAD
https://netfiles.uiuc.edu/ehowes/www/resource.htmHere is the link for downloading MVPS Hosts Files
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htmAnd tell the one, who adviced you zango, to do the same thing. You might save his computer and e-life.
(Installing IE-SPYAD and MVPS is one of the basic security rules).
DuaneJeffers
Mar 11 2005, 03:31 AM
QUOTE(LostAccount @ Mar 10 2005, 03:35 AM)
I don't understand what you mean here.
[right][snapback]202659[/snapback][/right]
I met with the Zango Business Development Account Manager at the GDC2005, and she said that she had white papers written by anti-spyware industry people (COAST??). I was asked to email her asking about it.
-Duane
tennisjump
Mar 11 2005, 08:21 PM
COAST means nothing
Tuxedo Jack
Mar 12 2005, 12:15 AM
Coast is a dead body now. They don't seem to have any influence now that the original members have left.
180solutions and Zango are still not to be trusted. If they install once, they'll do it again, and they'll claim rogue affiliates, just like CWS does.
DuaneJeffers
Mar 12 2005, 12:07 PM
Well, I will see what I can get from the exec, but, there seems to be alot of people interested in Zango. I think if you were to put 50 grand on the show floor with a big black dude guarding it ... you get attention.
-Duane
jeagle69
Mar 15 2005, 09:23 AM
I had Zango on my PC, and at first thought it was a game site that my daughter had downloaded. For a couple days, I didn't bother looking into it, but then IE kept getting redirected to Zango.com at startup.
My firewall was screaming that a couple of .exe programs were attempting to send info out. I did not recognize the dns they were going to, so I ran SB S&D, Ad-Aware, and HiJack this and they discovered quite a few problems: Browser hijacker, adware, spyware, and the toolbar was loaded with ads which were always different.
I cleaned up all remnants of Zango, and the PC was fine again.
I would suggest re-thinking using Zango.
My 2pence.
Konky
Mar 16 2005, 05:40 PM
In my opinion 180 Solutions are trying there best to try and become a more legit company much like Gain has become in a sense.
However it is most certainly still malware. If you still dont buy the fact that 180 solutions directly are then look at some logs of people who are infected with 180 solutions as well as coolwebsearch.
In many cases 180Solutions software comes along with this vicious hijack. It is most certainly malware by association in my book.
tashi
Mar 16 2005, 05:45 PM
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.